Project Sewn: If the Shoe Fits (Vogue 1352)

DSC02550

Alright guys, I am going to be honest – this post hardly revolves around my shoes as I was prompted to do. I just wanted to post with Project Sewn’s Sew Along and I finished up this dress, so I am making it work (kind of). I do genuinely find this shoe and dress combination fun.

 

DSC02569

Let’s talk about this dress. I give you Vogue 1352 made from a lovely jersey print from Mood. It’s a lyrca rayon blend and super soft with a decent amount of weight. I am in love with the print. I was originally planning to use the fabric for a different dress pattern, but I am quite happy that I used it for the maxi length.

 

DSC02544

This is the first maxi dress I’ve made..and worn. I think I am going to end up with a fixation on this style for the spring. When maxi dresses first became popular again, I was not really onboard with the look, but I’ve warmed up to it over time. I do have rather long legs so the style works pretty well for me. I feel like this style also adds an extra bit of classiness. We’ll see what I have to say about maxi dresses in the heat of the summer when my legs can’t hang out for any kind of breeze coming through. 😉

 

DSC02560

This dress was very easy and quick to construct. It also only required a little over 2 yards of fabric. I turned in the facings for the sleeves and front bodice pieces and stitched them down with a twin needle. My one bone to pick with this pattern is the neckband – maybe I missed something, but the marking on the neckband didn’t make sense to me when trying to match it up to the bodice. Then when I stitched the neckband on and encased the raw edges…it kind of looked like shit.

 

DSC02541

See? That neckband’s not so gorgeous and the front center does looks stretched out and kinda whack. Oh well. The rest of the dress is striking enough to take attention away from the neckband…at least, that’s what I am telling myself.

 

DSC02570

Hooray maxi dresses!

4 thoughts on “Project Sewn: If the Shoe Fits (Vogue 1352)

  1. I was just looking at this pattern and wondering how it made up. Yours looks fab, fabric is terrific and has helped me decide to buy the pattern.

Leave a Reply

