Papercut Patterns Sway Dress

I am here to continue professing my love for Papercut Patterns. If you haven’t already seen, a new collection just came out – Chameleon – and it is fantastic! I’ve already purchased half the patterns and here is a peek at my favorite, the Sway Dress:

DSCN0151

I absolutely love the cut of this dress. It is channeling a 60s tent dress in such a superb way. The pattern offers two length variations – the longer length is belted, but the shorter length is meant to sway wide. 🙂 I am totally fine with a huge tent around me – then I can eat lots of pizza and drink lots of beer and no one will know. Plus there is something about this style that feels just the right amount cute and just the right amount sassy (maybe it’s just sassy because I am displaying three quarters of my thighs).

DSCN0150

 

This dress was a breeze to whip up. It would have been even easier if I had paid more attention to the pattern instructions. I bought the pattern as a PDF and I was so excited that I just started sewing without reading through the steps. I zipped up the side seams and front and back seams – all completed in french seams – only to realize I should have attached my lining first. Oops. My main fabric is pretty delicate, so because rather than ripping out all of my stitching, I ended up finishing the armhole edges with bias tape and hand stitching the tape to my lining. It worked well enough.

DSCN0153

The back of the dress has a cute little v. The fun thing about this dress is that you can turn it around and wear the v in the front if you want.

DSCN0152

DSCN0164

Wide load y’all! I have to admit, I actually cropped off about 1-1.5 inches from hem. In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have because it is REALLY short, but it felt like the right thing to do mid-construction? I don’t know. If you are feeling horrified with the shortness of my dress, the good news is, yours will be a little longer. I finished my hemline with a rolled hem. I can finally do a rolled hem on my machine decently and it rules – so fast!

DSCN0158

Let’s finally talk about this fabric!! I scored this from Mood and you can too if you are willing to pay $24/yard. It’s a Thakoon silk and it has a really unique hand. It’s VERY sheer, but it has it is fairly stiff for a silk and has some nice body. I feel like it was a perfect match for this dress pattern. I just used a cream bemberg rayon for my lining. The print on this silk is so good and bonus, Beyonce was spotted in this same fabric so now we’re twins:

11703085_10102755140039189_3849016650008196549_n
**The only time in my life that I will one-up Beyonce because I know she didn’t make that shit.**

DSCN0165

DSCN0157

 

I heart Papercut ❤

 

5 thoughts on “Papercut Patterns Sway Dress

  1. If you have any leftover fabric you could make a matching pair of mini bloomers. And in the side-by-side photo of you and Beyonce it is clear that your legs are as least as lovely as hers.

  2. I also adore Papercut, but sometimes it takes seeing a version or two of their patterns made up for them to come alive for me. Your blog totally helps the process – the dress is fab, fabric is gorgeous and you are rocking that shorter length!

Leave a Reply

