Papercut Patterns Flutter Tunic

It’s about time that I dusted off this blog and brought it into 2016. I’ve been making wildly, but photographing nothing. Yesterday I finally had a dose of motivation to take pictures of one of my latest projects. So here it is – the Flutter Tunic by Papercut Patterns (but I really consider it a dress). 24 karat gold.

DSCN0346

I’m pretty sure at least 50% of my blog is made up of me singing praises for Papercut Patterns and I’m going to continue that trend. Katie’s got it going on – her patterns are beautiful and never disappoint. They always gravitate to the top of my sewing projects list and the outcomes leave me extremely satisfied. The Flutter Tunic is part of the Chameleon collection, which felt like a pretty recent release, but a new collection is already about to come out (!!!!!!!!!!!). I’ve also made the Sway dress and Yoyo dress (not yet blogged) from this collection. I’ve got a pink twill Waver jacket in the queue.

I digress, but let’s sum this up to say that Papercut Patterns are ace.

DSCN0339

Let me give you more of the scoop on the Flutter. This pattern is super simple, but effortlessly glamorous. I’ve been really into strong sleeve styles lately (soon to come to the blog is also my Satsuki dress by Victory patterns). I love the flouncy sleeve and even more so, the dropped shoulder. I made the size Small with only two modifications – I dropped the point of the bust darts for a better fit and I added ~1.5 inches in length to the tunic. It’s still short, but definitely wearable. The back hemline is even designed to scoop down a little for extra coverage.

DSCN0338

DSCN0337

I constructed the whole dress with french seams for a polished finish. I turned up a 1 inch hem and blind stitched it by hand and finished the sleeves with a machine stitched narrow hem. The neckline is finished with a strip of bias from the same fabric. I should have taken a photo of the inside of this guy because it looks damn good. The pattern has an option of binding the neck and sleeve hems with visible bias tape for some contrast, but my fabric was too beautiful to mess with any contrast and distraction.

DSCN0336

Can we talk about the true show stopper? This fabric!!!

DSCN0343

I mentioned in my last post that Mood Fabrics had really knocked it out the park with some high quality polyester blend fabrics. Here is further proof. I got several gift certificates to Mood for Christmas/Birthday and obviously got straight to work spending all of them. This is a textured gold brocade and I have to say, I liked it online (clearly, since I bought it), but I became mildly obsessed with it in person. It is stunning and nice quality. I originally had a jacket in mind for this fabric. It is a lighter and has more drape than I expected, but that ended up a perfect match for this pattern instead. It’s also super convenient that it is 100% opaque so I didn’t have to mess with a lining. Adding a lining is a real drag sometimes, am I right?

DSCN0334

DSCN0342

I’ll wrap it now…I’ve got a pretty rad cardio fitness dance class to attend. 🙂 Happy weekend!

7 thoughts on “Papercut Patterns Flutter Tunic

    • Thank you! When I first bought this pattern, I wasn’t completely convinced it would be flattering on anyone but the model, but I’ve seen so many great makes of it. Strong sleeves for life!

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Weekly #24 | Helen's ClosetHelen's Closet

Leave a Reply

